Tammy Wright holds a photo of her late husband Rob Wright, who jointly won Nelson’s 2020 Citizen of the Year award with Keith Bridger, seen here holding the award plaque. Photo: Bill Metcalfe

Tammy Wright holds a photo of her late husband Rob Wright, who jointly won Nelson’s 2020 Citizen of the Year award with Keith Bridger, seen here holding the award plaque. Photo: Bill Metcalfe

Nominations open for Nelson’s 2021 Citizen of the Year

Let us know who deserves recognition

The 57th Nelson’s Citizen of the Year award returns this spring presented by the Nelson Star.

The annual award recognizes people who have made a significant difference in the lives of Nelson’s residents.

Nominations can be made online at nelsonstar.com (click here) until Feb. 28. The winner will be announced in the March 10th edition of the Nelson Star.

This year’s event is sponsored by Nelson Ford, the Nelson and District Chamber of Commerce, Save-On-Foods, the Nelson and District Credit Union, and the Nelson Star.

The Citizen of the Year was first awarded in 1964 to Red Cross volunteer Helen Morris. Last year’s co-recipients were Rob Wright and Keith Bridger, for their work with the Nelson Tennis Club.

Previous citizens of the year

1964: Helen Morris, Red Cross

1965: Elwyn Owens, community service

1966: Helen Catley, community service, Mt. St. Francis

1967: William Young, Shriners, children with special needs

1968: Mabel Cartwight, community service

1969: Margaret Barwis, community service

1970: Cornelius Van Pelt, community service

1971: Joan Lefeaux, community service, especially children

1972: David Fairbank, community service, Jubilee Manor

1974: Ben Sutherland, Shriners, children with special needs

1976: Frank Hufty, community service

1977: Everett Kuhn, community service, square dancing

1978: Gordon Hoover, Kiwanis Club, Boy Scouts, junior sports

1979: Laura Maglio, community service, Guides, Brownies

1980: June Dolman, musical arts, fashion classes

1981: Mas Fujibayashi, youth sports

1982: Corrine Massey, community service

1983: Inez Eckmire, community service, veterans

1984: Walter Waite, founder mid-summer curling bonspiel

1985: Lloyd Miskiman, snowfest co-ordinator

1986: Bob Allen, Shriners, search and rescue

1987: Rocco Mastrobuono, hospital equipment

1988: Betty Drew, library, hospital, music festival

1989: Debbie Kozak, special needs children

1990: Margaret Murphy, community service

1991: Doug McDonald, music to shut-ins

1992: Les Clarkson, community service

1993: Shawn Lamb, museum, arts council

1994: Fran Horan, community service

1995: Bert Daynard, community service

1996: Bob Nuyens, community service

1997: Jim and Nancy Dow, special Olympics

1998: Amelia Fukala, Legion, Guides, Eagles, curling

1999: Margaret Stacey, community service, music, arts

2000: Marguerite Santor, community service, junior hockey

2001: Frances Welwood, community service

2002: Alan R. Ramsden, community service Museum Arts Boy Scouts

2003: Bruce Morrison, community service Osprey Foundation

2004: Al Craft, community service, water rescue

2005: Debra Zeeben, community service, Hospital Foundation

2006: Dr. Ken Muth, community service, health

2007: Douglas Stoddart, community service

2008: Dr. John Mackay, community service, health

2009: Mathilde Klassen, community service, music and arts

2010: Bill McDonnell, community service, sports

2011: Bruce Halstead, community service

2012: Lois Arnesen, community service, welcome wagon

2013: Peter Defeo, community service, fire department

2014: Barry Nelson, community service, car co-op, social justice

2015: Susanne Raschdorf, community service

2016: Helen Jamieson, community service, conservation and animal care

2017: Kim Charlesworth, community service

2018: David Hogg, community service, pipe band

2019: No award given due to pandemic

2020: Keith Bridger and Rob Wright, Nelson Tennis Club