The RDCK vice-chair is getting a raise

The RDCK vice-chair is getting a raise

Five Kootenaians nominated for Queen’s medal

Two former Regional District of Central Kootenay chairs and two former directors are among nominees for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal.

Two former Regional District of Central Kootenay chairs and two former directors are among the nominees for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal.

New Denver’s Gary Wright, who chaired the board from 2004-10, and Ymir’s Hans Cunningham, who did the same job from 1993-2004, were both endorsed for their “long and exemplary service” to the RDCK, province of BC, and their communities.

Cunningham is still a director, while Wright recently retired and is writing a political memoir.

Also nominated are Corky Evans, John Voykin, and Geoff Yule.

Evans served as the RDCK’s Slocan Valley director in the early 1980s before running for provincial politics. He was Nelson-Creston MLA from 1991-2001 and 2005-09.

Voykin, a Pass Creek resident, recently retired after 31 years representing rural Castlegar, making him the longest-serving director in the regional district’s history.

During that time he also served as vice-chair and was the founding chair of the regional hospital district. Voykin is being honoured at a banquet Saturday in Brilliant.

Yule, a Castlegar accountant, is a Rotarian, soccer coach, and has travelled to Honduras and Bolivia with the Stanley Humphries Secondary Interact Club. He’s also been an active member of the Castlegar Aquanauts.

The nominations came at the request of MP Alex Atamanenko, who put out the call for worthy candidates in his riding.

The medal, created to mark the 60th anniversary of the queen’s ascension to the throne, will be presented to 60,000 Canadians this year to honour “significant contributions and achievements.”


The vice-chair of the Regional District of Central Kootenay will make an extra $500 a month instead of $214, following a motion passed this week, retroactive to January 1.

Chair John Kettle says his rationale was present vice-chair Hillary Elliott attends virtually every meeting he does.

“My belief is you can’t have a No. 2 who is not in the loop,” he said. “She participates in 99 per cent of the things I do. She can step into this role immediately if I’m sick or away.”

Slocan Valley director Walter Popoff said he hoped future vice-chairs are as involved as Elliott.

Municipal directors receive a base salary of $1,006 per month, and the 11 rural directors $2,593 each. The chair receives an additional $2,467 per month.


The new Nelson transfer station is a step closer to reality with the award this week of a $156,000 contract to Ward Engineering and Land Surveying Ltd.

The Nelson firm will complete design, tendering, and construction supervision services for the new transfer station, which will be west of the city near Pacific Insight.

It’s part of the regional district’s plan to get the present transfer station off the waterfront.


The regional district will chip in $30,000 to help repair the ravine bridge along the Nelson-Salmo Great Northern trail.

It’s estimated labour and equipment to repair the structure will cost $240,000.

The Ministry of Transportation is putting up $210,000 and has already purchased $90,000 worth of materials.