Lenora Trenaman (right) was elected as the new school board chair on Tuesday

Kootenay Lake school board chairs elected

Newly elected trustees met for the first time Tuesday.

Lenora Trenaman and Heather Suttie were elected as the new chair and vice-chair of the Kootenay Lake school board Tuesday evening.

Cody Beebe was chosen as the provincial representative to the BCPSEA and newly elected Nelson trustee Curtis Bendig was named as the alternate.

Outgoing board chair Rebecca Huscroft said the experience was a great time of personal growth, and she relished leading the district through a difficult period, which included the teacher’s strike earlier this year.

“I think it’s a great opportunity for Lenora. She brings a lot of experience to the table,” she said.

Trenamen was first elected to the Kootenay Lake Board of Education in 2005. Born and raised in Creston, she has lived in the Balfour area for over 30 years.

She currently represents Crawford Bay, as well as the East and North Shores.

Suttie, who represents the town of Creston, was first acclaimed as a trustee in November. She is currently the chair of the Creston-Kootenay Foundation, which is dedicated to managing an endowment fund of over a million dollars to benefit communities from Yahk to Riondel.

Beebe represents the south rural zone, and is currently the local union president at the Columbia Brewery. He also helped spearhead a campaign to stop the movement of Homelinks to Canyon-Lister Elementary School, which he cited as his reason for running in the most recent election.

Bendig, who works as Nelson-Creston MLA Michelle Mungall’s constituency assistant, has been active on a number of boards and committees including the Columbia Basin Trust’s Youth Advisory Committee and the Kootenay Carshare Co-op.

The board now consists of nine members. Trenaman, Suttie, Huscroft, Bendig and Beebe will be joined for the next four years by Sharon Nazaroff (Slocan Valley/Bonnington), Bob Wright (Salmo, Taghum and Blewett) Bill Maslechko (City of Nelson/Bealby Point) and Dawn Lang (Village of Kaslo and North Rural Zone-Area D).

Superintendant Jeff Jones welcomed both the returning and the new trustees, saying they have a number of issues to address over the next four years, including student poverty and decision-making around surplus properties as enrolment drops province-wide.

“There are enormous challenges, there’s no doubt about that,” he said, before adding he believes they’re up to the task.

A full list of trustees with biographies and contact information can be found at sd8.bc.ca.

Just Posted

RDCK moves ahead with Castlegar rec complex upgrade plan

Board approves grant application for $13 million from provincial, federal governments

Cottonwood Lake preservation group surpasses $50,000 fundraising goal

In 28 days, 393 donors have contributed to the fund

Last of southern Selkirk caribou relocated to Revelstoke area

One cow from the South Selkirk herd and two from the Purcells were moved this week

Scammers using Castlegar home for rental fraud

Local realtors say the problem is happening more frequently with their properties

West Kootenay radio club says local network in need of upgrades

Club president Lane Wilson estimated $100,000 of work required

B.C. opioid crisis to get same world-renowned treatment approach as HIV/AIDS

A program that focuses on treatment as prevention will roll out Jan. 17

Olympian snowboarder Max Parrot diagnosed with Hodgkin’s lymphoma

Each year in Canada, approximately 900 people are diagnosed with Hodgkin’s lymphoma

‘Prince of Pot’ Marc Emery accused of sexual assault, harassment

Emery denied the allegations, but a Toronto woman says she is not the only one speaking out

Vancouver Island photographer makes National Geographic’s 2018 elite

Rare double honour for Marston from the 36 best Your Shots out of nearly 19,000 photos

Ex-Liberal candidate in Burnaby, B.C., says volunteer wrote controversial post

Karen Wang dropped out following online post singling out NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh’s ethnicity

Asteroids are smacking Earth twice as often as before

The team counted 29 craters that were no older than 290 million years

Canada’s arrest of Huawei exec an act of ‘backstabbing,’ Chinese ambassador says

China has called Canada’s arrest of Huawei chief financial officer Meng Wanzhou ‘politically motivated’

In limbo: Leftover embryos challenge clinics, couples

Some are outright abandoned by people who quit paying storage fees and other couples struggle with tough decisions

BREAKING: Jury finds man accused of killing B.C. girl, 12, guilty

Twelve-year-old Monica Jack disappeared in May 1978 while riding her bike along a highway in Merritt, B.C.

Most Read