Rosemont Elementary’s Tim Mushumanski is among the principals being shuffled around School District 8. Photo: Tyler Harper

Rosemont Elementary’s Tim Mushumanski is among the principals being shuffled around School District 8. Photo: Tyler Harper

Kootenay Lake school district shuffles administrators

New principals for L.V. Rogers, Mount Sentinel, Salmo

The Kootenay Lake school district has announced a major shuffling of its administrators, including new principals for Nelson, Kaslo, Slocan Valley, Salmo, and Crawford Bay schools.

“Every year, we get asked why we are doing leadership change throughout our district,” superintendent Christine Perkins said in a news release. “Change is good for all of us and we want to build capacity within all the members of our learning community.

“With change, comes learning. And in education, learning is the ultimate goal.”

Blewett elementary principal Mary Ann Gaschnitz will retire at the end of June while Mount Sentinel principal Glen Campbell will leave the school at the same time. He will be involved in mentoring and other district projects until his official retirement in January 2021.

Shellie Maloff will replace Campbell as principal at Mount Sentinel while Tim Mushumanski will become principal at Blewett.

Perkins said the reasons for principal and vice-principal moves varies. Some come as requests for personal career development and new learning. Other times it may have to do with district needs, succession planning, or to cover an illness.

“For brand new leadership, it is a good opportunity to move to another school other than the one you were a teacher at,” Perkins says.

All moves will take effect on Aug. 1.

District Principals

• Tamara Malloff will become district principal, innovative learning – middle years, secondary, post-secondary, and online learning (from principalship of L.V. Rogers).

Nelson Family of Schools

• Ben Eaton will become principal at L.V. Rogers Secondary and will maintain his director of instruction portfolio, specifically related to safe schools, and all things trades.

• Amy Strachan will become vice-principal at L.V. Rogers (from Trafalgar Middle). Ron Sherman remains vice-principal at L.V. Rogers.

• Jordon Konken will become vice-principal at Trafalgar (from vice-principal L.V. Rogers).

• Gail Higginbottom will add to her district principal – Aboriginal education portfolio and will be principal at Redfish Elementary.

• Tim Mushumanski will become principal at Blewett Elementary (from Rosemont Elementary).

• Dan Rude will become principal at South Nelson (from J.V. Humphries and Jewett in Kaslo/Meadow Creek).

• Lindsay Mackay will become principal at Rosemont Elementary (from Blewett).

Salmo Family of Schools

• Jon Francis becomes principal of Salmo Secondary (from Winlaw Elementary).

• Misty Terpstra will be vice-principal of Salmo Elementary and Salmo Secondary (from vice-principal at Salmo Secondary).

• Dawn Snell will be principal of Salmo Elementary.

Slocan Family of Schools

• Monica Doyle will become principal of Winlaw Elementary (from South Nelson).

• Jen Kooznetsoff will become principal at Brent Kennedy Elementary (from vice-principal at Salmo Elementary)

• Shellie Maloff will be the new principal at Mount Sentinel Secondary (from Brent Kennedy – she’s also a former vice-principal at Mount Sentinel).

Kaslo Family of Schools

• Victoria McAllister will become principal of J.V. Humphries in Kaslo and Jewett Elementary in Meadow Creek (from Redfish Elementary).

Crawford Bay Family of Schools

• Sarah Wick will be the new principal of Crawford Bay Elementary/Secondary (from Mount Sentinel and the District Aspiring Leaders program).

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Nelson Leafs
Matthew Byrne scores 3 as Nelson Leafs hammer Grand Forks

Byrne already has 11 points through three games

With new Provincial Health Orders, area sports teams will suspend all travel including the Trail Smoke Eaters and Trail minor hockey rep teams and some house teams. Photo: Jim Bailey.
New COVID regs suspend junior and minor hockey rep play

All West Kootenay travelling hockey teams have been grounded until Dec. 7

(Black Press file)
Interior Health reports 31 new COVID-19 cases

In the region, health authority reports 235 total active cases

The Nelson Police Department says a pedestrian was hit at a crosswalk Wednesday evening. File photo
Nelson Police: Pedestrian hit by vehicle at crosswalk

The vehicle was not going fast and the victim suffered non-life-threatening injuries

Kyle Charles poses for a photo in Edmonton on Friday, Nov. 20, 2020. Marvel Entertainment, the biggest comic book publisher in the world, hired the 34-year-old First Nations illustrator as one of the artists involved in Marvel Voice: Indigenous Voices #1 in August. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jason Franson
VIDEO: Indigenous illustrator of new Marvel comic hopes Aboriginal women feel inspired

Kyle Charles says Indigenous women around the world have reached out

B.C. Liberal MLA Shirley Bond questions NDP government ministers in the B.C. legislature, Feb. 19, 2020. (Hansard TV)
Cabinet veteran Shirley Bond chosen interim leader of B.C. Liberals

28-member opposition prepares for December legislature session

Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good
Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good

Pay it Forward program supports local businesses in their community giving

Motorists wait to enter a Fraser Health COVID-19 testing facility, in Surrey, B.C., on Monday, November 9, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
COVID-19: What do rising positivity rates mean for B.C.? It’s not entirely clear

Coronavirus cases are on the rise but the province has not unveiled clear thresholds for further measures

A rider carves a path on Yanks Peak Saturday, Nov. 21. Two men from Prince George went missing on the mountain the next day. One of them, Colin Jalbert, made it back after digging out his sled from four feet under the snow. The other, Mike Harbak, is still missing. Local search and rescue teams went out looking Monday, Nov. 23. (Sam Fait Photo)
‘I could still be the one out there’: Snowmobiler rescued, 1 missing on northern B.C. mountain

As Quesnel search and rescue teams search for the remaining rider, Colin Jalbert is resting at home

More than 70 anglers participated in the bar-fishing demonstration fishery on Sept. 9, 2020 on the Fraser River near Chilliwack. DFO officers ticketed six people and seized four rods. A court date is set for Dec. 1, 2020. (Jennifer Feinberg/ Chilliwack Progress file)
Anglers ticketed in Fraser River demonstration fishery heading to court

Sportfishing groups started a GoFundMe with almost $20K so far for legal defence of six anglers

Pictured is the Cranbrook gravel pit, located between two graveyards near the public works yard. This is where two lost kids were located by a Salvador Ready Mix driver on Thursday, November 19, 2020. (Corey Bullock/Cranbrook Townsman file)
Two lost Cranbrook kids find their way home thanks to Salvador Ready Mix driver

The driver found the children wandering near the gravel pits in Cranbrook

Care home staff are diligent about wearing personal protective equipment when they are in contact with residents, but less so when they interact with other staff members, B.C. Seniors Advocate says. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chris Young
More COVID-19 testing needed for senior home staff, B.C.’s advocate says

Employees mingling spotted as virus conductor in many workplaces

Most Read