Skip to content

PHOTOS: New Nelson council takes oath of office at swearing-in ceremony

It was the first event with new councillors Pineiro, Tait and Payne

Nelson City Council was officially sworn in Nov. 8 at a public event at the Prestige Lakeside Resort.

The members of the new council are Rik Logtenberg, Keith Page, Leslie Payne, Jesse Pineiro, Kate Tait and Jesse Woodward.

Newly elected mayor Janice Morrison briefly addressed the crowd, recognizing Nov. 8 as Indigenous Veterans Day and outlining some notable events in Nelson’s history since its incorporation in 1897.

She announced that Councillor Keith Page has been named the city’s representative on the board of the Regional District of Central Kootenay.

Morrison said she had invited six former mayors to the ceremony, and three of those were in attendance: John Dooley, Deb Kozak and Dave Elliott.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Bill Metcalfe

About the Author: Bill Metcalfe

I have lived in Nelson since 1994 and worked as a reporter at the Nelson Star since 2015.
Read more