The best young hockey players (and a couple not-so-young ones) in Nelson were feted Thursday during the annual awards banquet. Photo submitted

Nelson Minor Hockey hands out annual awards

Peter Quinn was honoured as coach of the year

Peter Quinn was recognized last week for coaching the Nelson Bantam Leafs to a silver medal at provincials.

Quinn received the Ted Hargreaves Excellence in Coaching award during the annual Nelson Minor Hockey Association awards Thursday after his team made it to the finals at provincials in Nelson last month.

Quinn’s son Noah also received the Mike Laughton Senior Memorial Award for a player showing dedication.

Bill McDonnell and Mike Laughton meanwhile were presented with life-time memberships for their volunteer work.

Other awards included:

Barry Pearce Memorial Award: Sebastien Conne-Correnti

John Reichardt Memorial Award: Max Jean

Todd Matheson Memorial Award: Owen Ditzel

Walter Clarkson Award: Xavier Tinholt

Alf Baker Award: Liam Ingram

Marc Severyn Memorial Trophy: Kaleb Percival

R.C. Wright Memorial Trophy: Tyler Lakeman

Barry Geist Memorial Trophy: Connor Comishin

Baker St. Esso Award: Shayla Elias

Jackson Hole Three ‘A’ Award: Weston McBeath, Mitchell Erickson, Joseph Davidson and Hailey Elias

Sarge Sammartino Award: Jaden Dyck, Lorne Anderson

Robert Jeffs Award: Cam Paterson

Just Posted

Nelson has West Kootenay’s cheapest gas prices

The cost rises significantly outside the city

Selkirk students pay it forward with pizza

The adult special education program is buying slices for those in need

Dance Fusion: ‘smooth, entertaining and emotional’

250-dancer showcase includes a piece by a group of young dancers and their fathers

Nelson figure skaters visit Enchanted Forest

The club held its annual year-end show on April 15

PHOTOS: Nelson Rhythm Ropers skip to success at provincials

The team won 56 medals last weekend at L.V. Rogers

VIDEO: B.C. man recognized for spinning basketball on toothbrush

Abbotsford man holds world record for longest duration of time of 60.5 seconds

Former Social Credit MLA dies at 88

Lyall Hanson was mayor of Vernon in 1981 and moved to provincial politics from 1986-96

Ailing health care biggest hurdle for Okanagan jail

PART SIX: Inmates reportedly wait weeks for broken bones to be seen, challenges with maintaining medical staff

Police searching for escaped prisoner in B.C.

Ralph Whitfield Morris, 83, is serving a life sentence for second-degree murder

B.C. set to introduce pot laws, but years of fine tuning likely: minister

Legislation regulating recreational marijuana is expected to be introduced Thursday

Canadian driver uses lawn chair as driver’s seat, gets caught

Ontario police detachment caught the male driver during a traffic stop

B.C. moves to restrict pill presses in opioid battle

Minister Mike Farnworth says federal law doesn’t go far enough

VIDEO: Vets, volunteers set up vaccination station for sick bunnies

Volunteers, vets try to stop spread of lethal virus

Most Read