Skip to content

Candidates announced for Oct. 15 municipal election in Nelson

Also: candidate lists for RDCK, school board, municipal councils in Salmo, Slocan, Silverton, Kaslo
There are five candidates for mayor and 11 for council in the Oct. 15 municipal election in Nelson. Photo: Bill Metcalfe

Five people will run to be Nelson’s mayor in the Oct. 15 municipal election.

Janice Morrison, who has served three terms on council, is challenging incumbent mayor John Dooley for the job. John Buffery, Tom Prior, and Mike Zeabin are also running.

Incumbent councillors Keith Page, Rik Logtenberg and Jesse Woodward are running for re-election to the six-person council. Nicole Charlwood and Cal Renwick, who served on council in the last term, are not running.

There will be eight others on the Nelson councillor ballot: Ainsleah Hastings, Leslie Payne, Jesse Pineiro, Brenton Raby, Glenn Sutherland, Kate Tait, Kyle Wilkinson and Charles Jeanes.

Sept. 9 was the deadline for municipal, regional district and school board candidates across the province to file their nomination papers. Province-wide lists of candidates can be found at

Regional District of Central Kootenay

In RDCK Area F (the north shore from Willow Point to Bonnington) director Tom Newell is unopposed and will therefore be re-elected by acclamation.

In Area E (Balfour and the south side of the west arm of Kootenay Lake to Blewett), 14-year director Ramona Faust decided not to run for re-election and there are four candidates seeking to replace her: Reggie Goldsbury, Cheryl Graham, Dan Rye, and Landon Verigin.

In Area G (rural Salmo), Anna Bundschuh and Farrell Segall are running against the incumbent director Hans Cunningham.

In Area H (Slocan Valley) incumbent director Walter Popoff is unopposed.

Lists of candidates in RDCK electoral areas further afield from Nelson can be found at

School District 8

The candidates for the nine-person SD8 board are:

City of Nelson: Tricia Braun, Julie Bremner, Lesley Garlow, Kathy Krulitsky, Murray Shunter and Tamara Ziemer for two positions.

Salmo, Taghum and Blewett: incumbent Susan Chew for one position.

Slocan Valley and Bonnington: Emily Duggan and incumbent Sharon Nazaroff for one position.

East Shore and North Shore: David Feldman and incumbent Lenora Trenaman for one position.

South Rural Zone: Mary Jayne Blackmore and incumbents Cody Beebe and Allan Gribbin for two positions.

Town of Creston: Kathy Etheridge, Zarchi Schein and Clements Verhoeven for one position.

Village of Kaslo and Rural North: Dustin East and incumbent Dawn Lang for one position.

Salmo and Kaslo councils

In Salmo, Jonathan Heatlie is running against the incumbent mayor Dianna Lockwood. For council, incumbent Jennifer Lins is running, along with Todd Wallace who served on council prior to 2018. Also on the council ballot will be Melanie Cox, Kenzie Neil, and Anne Williams.

In Kaslo, Henry Van Mill is running against incumbent mayor Suzan Hewat. For village council, Lynda Beddow, Erika Bird, Matthew Brown, and Jonathan Carruthers will run against incumbents Robert Lang and Molly Leathwood.

Slocan and Silverton councils

In Slocan, incumbent mayor Jessica Lunn is being challenged by Dave Fredrickson, who served as counsellor prior to 2018. Incumbent councillors Ezra Buller and Madeleine Perriere will be joined on the ballot by Elizabeth Azu, Steve Baal, Shanoon Bennett, Nicol Berinstein, Jeremi Buzolitch-Roy, Delaine Hird, Jordan Knott, Heather Marshall, Merina Matthew, Sophie Teare, and Joanna Van Bynen.

In Silverton, incumbent Colin Ferguson is the only candidate for mayor. Four incumbent councillors are on the ballot: Clarence Denbok, Leah Main, Brian Mills, and Arlene Yofonoff. Also running for council are Luce Paquin and Margaret Scala.


Mayor John Dooley to run for re-election

City councillor Janice Morrison to run for mayor of Nelson

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Bill Metcalfe

About the Author: Bill Metcalfe

I have lived in Nelson since 1994 and worked as a reporter at the Nelson Star since 2015.
Read more