Skip to content

Cheryl Graham wins Area E election by 10 votes

Graham is a first-term director
Cheryl Graham. Photo: Bill Metcalfe

Cheryl Graham has been elected Area E’s new director for the Regional District of Central Kootenay.

Graham was voted into their first term Saturday following the B.C. General Local Elections and will replace Ramona Faust, who did not run for re-election.

Graham earned 426 votes to beat Landon Veregin by just 10 votes. They both finished well ahead of Reggie Goldsbury (133) and Dan Rye (122).

Area E includes Balfour, Queens Bay, Longbeach, Harrop-Procter, Sunshine Bay, Bealby, Taghum Beach, Blewett, and Cottonwood Lake.

Graham lives in the Balfour area and is co-owner of Graham Marine Construction. She ran on a platform that included a promise to keep Area E free of zoning.


‘Let’s do it together’: Janice Morrison elected Nelson’s mayor

Diana Lockwood re-elected as Salmo’s mayor

Hans Cunningham returns as Area G director

Four new trustees elected to School District 8 board

Kootenays votes: 2022 results

About the Author: Nelson Star Staff

Read more